108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: D350 Hardware upgrade

SOLVED
Go to solution
Stephanie L Davenport
Frequent Advisor

D350 Hardware upgrade

I have an old HP 9000 D350 that is still running in production. We are upgrading the hardware on it this weekend but, I'm not 100% sure what to do. A third party vendor is going to come out and replace the parts but, since HP doesn't support the hardware or software (hp-ux 10.20) anymore, I'm kinda lost as to what to do after we boot it back up. I've never done a hardware upgrade before... just fresh installs and patching.

It currently has 1 100MHz processor and 128MB of ram. According to vendor, they are going to install a new mother board with 2 160Mhz processors, 1.5GB of ram and a new power supply (basically upgrading it to a D370). When I boot the box up, what do I need to do in order for the OS to recognize everything new?
25 REPLIES 25
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor
Solution

In your case, just replace the hardware. All pathes will remain the same (if you do all connections like the original). Just make sure the system will copy the serial number from the systemboard to the COU board (it will ask you, answer yes). Make a backup!

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
DCE
Honored Contributor

Stephanie,

I have done this upgrade a couple times (although it was a couple of years ago)

There is no additional work more you as a sysadmin - all the system setting should remain the same.

The engineer doing the upgrade has to be careful (i.e. board placement and system serial number), but other than that is should go smoothly and relatively fast.
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

One possible "gotcha" is that the MAC address of the built-in ethernet port has changed. It is not uncommon for software licenses to be tied to this value so that the license server now fails to verify your formerly valid codes.
If it ain't broke, I can fix that.