8313 Online
108810 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HP System console

SOLVED
Go to solution
Becki Henderson

HP System console

Hello I need some help with 700/96 console for hp9000. I have never used this before. I used lantronix term server. I have reset the thing to defaults. How do I get a login prompt for the system. I don't know how to get to a login.
I am in desperate need to get a console on this box !!. Any help will MUCH appreciated!
also mass points :-0
Thanks in advance!
9 REPLIES 9
RAC_1
Honored Contributor

Connect a cable to the console port. (Serial cable) Using hyperterminal/or something similar, do following settings.

1. Bits persecond-- 9600
2. Data Bits -- 8
3. Parity -- none
4. Stop bits -- 1
5. Flow Control -- none or Hardware

And press enter, It should give you a prompt. Now using different GSp commands, configure a GSP. Sush as LC (lan configuration etc.)

Now, if you telnet to GSP and do command "co", it should give you a login prmopt.

There is no substitute to HARDWORK
Rodney Hills
Honored Contributor

You didn't mention the model of hp9000.

Be sure to use the serial cable supplied by HP. The pinnings although mostly standard have a slight variation.

Set Terminal to 9600baud, 8 bit, no-parity.
Try 19200baud if that doesn't work.

Some hp9000 have adapter with 3 plugins.
1 for console
1 for UPS
1 for modem
Be sure to use the right one.

HTH

-- Rod Hills
There be dragons...
Becki Henderson

I am so not familiar with this. I have the terminal hooked up and I have a screen with softlink menu, that is it. I can't get a prompt. I can telnet to the box using my pc so I don't know what you mean about adding those settings. Can you give me steps to do this. I am sorry for being so basic with this and I really do appreciate your help.
Becki Henderson

Thanks for your quick replies,
Do I set those params at the command line or do I use like f5 (terminal config on the console itself) I don't know where to go to do this?
thanks
Rodney Hills