108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

K-Class SCSI Critical Error

SOLVED
Go to solution
Tim Krego_1
Frequent Advisor

K-Class SCSI Critical Error

First let me say I am fairly new to HP/UX and their 9000 servers. I have inherited the daily duties for our K460 machine. Our sysadmin/dba quit.

I took HP/UX for Experienced Admins last month, but I am still learning.

My problem:

In the syslog yesterday I have a vmunix: SCSI request timeout. Critical error on 10_0.6.0. I think that is one of the internal 4GB Seagate OS disks.

There is an AutoRAID with all the slots filled with 9GB disks. The error is not on any of those disks.

Right now I do not know if the 2-4GB internal disks are mirrored. I do not think we have any type of HP support, but I need to find out how to purchase support from HP.

The syslog.log said to run a resdata command to find out the error. I have included that file in this message if anyone can look at it and point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
Tim Krego
HP/UX Newbie
8 REPLIES 8
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor
Solution

Re: K-Class SCSI Critical Error

Tim,
I can't be sure but 10.0.6 is probably your boot disk so it is vital to get this fixed soon. Because it is a boot disk you will need to make sure you have a good backup before disk replacement.
1) ioscan -C disk -fn | lp
This will give you a list of attached disks
2) vgdisplay -v /dev/vg00
Look for the Physical Volumes sections:
If you have only 1 volume listed then you are not mirrored. If you have more than 1 then you MAY be mirrored. At this point also look
at the disk devices associated with vg00 and compare them to your ioscan listing. You should then be able to find 10.0.6 and know that it is in vg00. (If not then do a vgdisplay of vgxx until you find it. I think it's vg00).
3) If you found multiple physical volumes for vg00 then note the locigal volumes listed with the vgdisplay.
4) For each logical volume do an lvdisplay
e.g. lvdisplay /dev/vg00/lvol3