6282 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Newbie... E55 query

SOLVED
Go to solution
jonathan lewis_1

Newbie... E55 query

Apologies for the naive nature of my query but I'm fairly new to this! I have been given an E55 server, and I would like to find out if it works.

I have access to six other D9000 servers, all of which have a built-in console interface for the VT100. This E55 is different in there's no (readily identifiable) console port...at least, not one I can find!

Port-wise, it has RJ45 & AUI network interfaces and a second multi-port blade with single ended SCSI, a parallel printer port and an ADP/DDP port (whatever that is! No idea :)

I can see there are spaces at the back where other blades/modules could be fitted, I suspect that the console port was previously fitted to on one of these now missing parts. It is entirely possible that this (percieved) lack of VT100 ports is why it was given to me!

Can anyone out there tell me if my synopsis is correct? From reading posts in this forum, I understand this box is quite old, which leads me to deduce that spare parts for it will be rare and therefore horrendously expensive. I am based in the UK.

Thanks to anyone that can help.
4 REPLIES 4
Jeff Schussele
Honored Contributor

Hi Jonathan,

You are correct that Es are pretty old systems. So old that I've never actually seen one. But we do have a T-class system which is also old & from about the same time as that E, I believe.
Now on this T the console port is a little DIN connector - like mice & KB ports on PCs.
You need a special cable for the console. It's a DIN to a DB-9 cable. I don't know the part #.
So check your E for that DIN connector - that might be your console port.

HTH,
Jeff
PERSEVERANCE -- Remember, whatever does not kill you only makes you stronger!
Brian M Rawlings
Honored Contributor
Solution

Jonathan: from the way-back machine...