HPE 9000 and HPE e3000 Servers
1752307 Members
5254 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Problem with HP 9000 800/G40, won't boot, all LEDs are on.

a_75

Problem with HP 9000 800/G40, won't boot, all LEDs are on.

I am a student and I just picked up an HP 9000 800/G40 from an auction. I would love to get this machine up and running again as a file server running HP-UX (it has plenty of room inside for disks).

When I turn the system on, one power supply fan starts spinning and the other does not. Is this bad?

The four LEDs on the front of the machine light up and remain lit indefinately. Also on the console card, the console self-test fail LED is on.

I tried (maybe foolishly) to connect a terminal to the console port (6-pin mini-DIN) using a PS/2->DB9 converter (for a PC mouse) but could not get the machine to respond. Before I spend $40 on a console cable I would like to believe that the hardware is in working order. I may try to make a console cable over the next few days and see if the machine is able to talk.

I have searched some on docs.hp.com but could not find much in the way of steps to diagnose what/which part(s) is/are failing.

Any help would be appreciated.

Nick Maniscalco
4 REPLIES 4
Bill Hassell
Honored Contributor

I hope you got a good price or a working order guarentee. You definitely have hardware problems, most likely a broken power supply. There won't be a lot of technical docs on the machine (certainly not enough to repair it) as this box has been obsolete for a long time.

Bill Hassell, sysadmin
paul courry
Honored Contributor

Don't spend $40 for a console cable. The pin out is published in this forum. Probable key words are DIN, console, cable, "2,3,7"

And th man is right, you have a sick puppy with some VERY expensive vet bills coming up.
a_75