1753758 Members
4794 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: running X-server on HP9000 800/A400

Patrick Piller_1

running X-server on HP9000 800/A400

Hello all,

I'm an 18 year old student from Austria. I got a Project from my teacher to run a HP9000 model 800/A400-44 server on HP-UX 11.00 . I have installed some programmes like webmin, samba, bash... . Now I want to install oracle9i. However, when i run ./runInstaller it tooks a moment and than it appears a error. Oracle wants a Display device.
But my server has no graphic card, so I tried to install a x-server. I downloaded and installed the "HP Remote Graphics". I am able to install it, but i can't connect to it. I think the reason is the missing Display ??driver??.

so, now to my question:
How can I install Oracle9i only with the putty terminal?
or
How can I run a working x-server on my server and HP-UX11.00.

Pleas help me, please

Thanks in advance,

Patrick
9 REPLIES 9
Joshua Scott
Honored Contributor

Patrick,

To have an X-client would seem to be the easiest solution to your problem. There are a few ways to do this:

1. install Linux/Solaris/BSD on a PC (Linux is free).
2. Find a used hp-ux workstation that someone is willing to give you, such as a 712, 715, Cxxx, or Bxxx. There is a 712/60 for under 5 Euro on ebay right now. if you have a 2GB hard drive you would be able to install HP-UX 11.0 on there without much problem.
3. Get another flavor Unix workstation (AIX, or SUN)
4. Install an X-client (like eXceed, or winaXe) on a windows PC. X-clients for windows usually cost a lot of money, so I would try to go the first three routes before I try this.

This assumes the address of the A400 is 192.168.0.1, and the address of the X-client is 192.168.0.2

on the X-client open a terminal window.
telnet 192.168.0.1
{login}
./runInstaller -display 192.168.0.2:0.0