BladeSystem - General
1753546 Members
5471 Online
108795 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Cust Documentation: excel spreadsheet/template for FW levels in Blade-enc. exists...?

Nick W
Frequent Advisor

Cust Documentation: excel spreadsheet/template for FW levels in Blade-enc. exists...?

Hi,

needed: >> Cust Documentation: excel spreadsheet/template to document FW levels etc for all components within an enclosure - exists..?<<

Hope someone can help me out here with what I hope is a simple request - I am a newbie to Bladesystems & enclosures - so apologies if this post has already been answered before (I could not find any similar references)....

Many months ago I was browsing the HP intranet for information regarding Blades to try to get a good overview of the capabilities, particularly for HP-UX (on Integrity baldes). I happened to stumble upon a post where someone was sharing an Excel spreadsheet template they had developed for documenting the FW levels of the various components contained within the enclosure (including those of server blades).

The spreadsheet/template had been formatted to provide a logical picture of the entire enclosure (a topology map) - which made it easier to visualise the location of the components. I believe it may have been used to document the environment and  presented to the customer...?
 - it may even have had some way of auto-populating (some of) the data fields from the output of certain blades-admin commands (OA probably) - but I can't be sure. (would be a useful feature, though...)

As I was looking for other information at the time (my background is post-sales support for HP-UX on PA-Risc - Bladesystems, Blades & Proliants are new territory...), I did not capture the spreadsheet template - now many months later I wished I had....

- I have tried in vain to locate this information in many internal forums and other HP-Intranet sites - but to no avail...