HPE Careers
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Balancing career and motherhood - HPE Costa Rica employee Laura Vanessa Vindas shares her story.

sgraye

Tell us what you knew and thought about Hewlett Packard Enterprise before you joined the company?

HPE is well known as one of the biggest employers in our area, it has a great reputation and is in a very good location in the city.  I didn't know too much about the HPE split into HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise, but my Google research made it clear that the separation was going to lead to growth opportunities for both companies and I was attracted by that.

Was that the reason why you decided to join HPE?

In part, yes.  I had been working for a telecommunications company for 7 years at the time, and professionally I'd found myself in a comfort zone.  I made the decision to seek a more challenging position, looking for companies where I could apply my existing skills while at the same time gaining professional development to enhance my career but still be able to balance being a new Mom.  After talking to someone I knew who worked at HPE, it appeared to be a good fit.  So I went on LinkedIn and started searching.

What happened next?

Well, there were a few positions that were a good fit for my skills and I applied for two.  I was very positive about one of them as I had all the necessary experience for it.  But to my surprise, I was called to interview for the second, more complex role that had greater responsibility and some good learning areas for me.  If I'm honest, I was a bit apprehensive and had mixed emotions, the role was exciting, but was I really going to be able to balance it with my home life.

So, how did the interview process go?