HPE Careers
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Managing Post Traumatic Stress thanks to Connected Warriors

sgraye

Blog pic for Vets.jpg

It's impossible to prepare for a traumatic event, they can be big or small  and they creep up and happen when we are least prepared - and they create powerful memories.  Our  work with Veterans and their families proves over and over again that when we learn to recognize when our body is reactiving - we can learn to control those reactions.

First some quick introductions, my name is Jeffrey Weaver and I am an Aruba employee and an Air Force Veteran who enjoys tremendous support from my friends and colleagues across Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE).  I am writing this post because today Is National PTSD Day and I have some unique experience.

Connected Warriors (CW) is a non-profit organization that was founded by my wife, Judy Weaver.  This volunteer organization delivers free weekly trauma-conscious yoga classes to Veterans, military service-members and their families in donated spaces and communities across the world.

cw1.jpg       

CW had had the opportunity wo work with a large number of Veterans and their family members over a very short time, so the Connected Warriors trauma conscious teaching protocols evolved rapidly based on some extreme inputs and are state-of-the-art.  Forget for a minute that our guests are from military and family backgrounds - we all have stress and there is no formula for how to react and manage that stress after the fact, but it is possible to take control.

cw2.jpg

For many people, the ability to manage unwanted reactions, is as simple as learning to recognize when they are happening and to take a pause.  It only takes a small fraction of a second to create enough space (time) to intercept your brain from sending a riot of signals all over your body - but it takes a little practice.