HPE EVA Storage
1753792 Members
6447 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: 1 drive, 2 servers not seeing the drive

Sebretian

1 drive, 2 servers not seeing the drive

I'm a beginner learning on the fly with our HP EVA 4100. I'm trying to see one drive on the SAN on two different servers but I'm having problems.

I've presented the drive to both my backup server and file server but run into two problems.
1. The drive shows up twice in disk manager, so I don't know which one to pick?
2. If I initialize and format the drive which was presented to both servers, I can't see the test file created on one, on the other.

Any help would be appreciated.
9 REPLIES 9
marsh_1
Honored Contributor

hi,

which OS is in use here, it sounds like you need multipathing software for it to stop you seeing the same disk down each path , if you want to share devices you should have some form of clustering / shared file system in place or you will corrupt your data.

hth

Sebretian

Backup server has Server 2003 SP2 and is a DL380 G3. File server has Server 2003 R2 and is DL360 G5.

Found and downloaded the MPIO software, thanks for that piece of the puzzle.

Any preference on which shared file system application?
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor

The simple answer is...

you can NOT share a disk with 2 Windows Servers without the use of 3rd party software to provide file locking and such.

Do NOT share Windows disks.. you WILL lose data.

If you want to backup the file server drive, you need to present a snapshot of the original drive to the backup server, NOT the original drive. You will need a Business Copy license in order to do this.

Steven
Steven Clementi
HP Master ASE, Storage, Servers, and Clustering
MCSE (NT 4.0, W2K, W2K3)
VCP (ESX2, Vi3, vSphere4, vSphere5, vSphere 6.x)
RHCE
NPP3 (Nutanix Platform Professional)
TTr
Honored Contributor