Go to solution
Jeff Arwood
Advisor

516 Fibre subsystem link failure

MSA 1000
Srv 08 R2 X64
Smart array 6i (2x 73GB Raid1)
Emulex LightPluse HBA

Where do I begin to troubleshoot? I have no historical knowledge on hardware viability. it seems logical to me to replace the fiber cable first and reboot the MSA. Is there a visual way to confirm integrity of link connection without stating the obvious as to examine the fibre cable.
17 REPLIES 17
V├нctor Cesp├│n
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: 516 Fibre subsystem link failure

That is a current message? Clear the messages on the MSA1000 display pressing left and right arrows at the same time, see if the message reappears.

What does the MSA have on the back?
- One port I/O module?
- Two port hub?
- 6-port SAN switch?
- 8 port SAN switch?

Is it connected to a SAN switch or to a server directly?

Check in the SAN switch the port status.
Jeff Arwood
Advisor

vcespon,

first thanks for your time.

Okay message cleared, however the software arrary configuration utility still does not see the other controller, just the perc 6i.

Looking at the back of the msa 1000 left to right top. There is a fibre connection from left side to hba in hp proliant dl360 one solid green light on the device in this slot no identifying description. There is a hp storage works hub 2/3 in right slot, no connections amber lights.

I do not have a rj45z console cable to connect to the right front controller. I can tell you the message does display one volume.

I hope that helps.
V├нctor Cesp├│n
Honored Contributor

Two things:

The MSA1000 has one or two controllers? Each controller only communicates with the module directly behind it. So controller on the right side looking from the front communicates with I/O module, hub or switch on the left side looking from behind. It's a common mistake to have the controller plugged in an slot that has no I/O module on the back.