HPE EVA Storage

Adding 2 8/40 switches to existing fabric

Ravish Shah

Adding 2 8/40 switches to existing fabric

We have an urgent enquiry that came through and require immediate assistance. I am trying to clarify what needs to be done and gather a cleare picture.
The client has purchased 2 pairs of 8/40 SAN switches. Their existing environment has EVA6000 with 4/32 SAN switches.
The client has also purchased ISL trunk licenses for the old 4/32 switches. Although, I need to understand if this is required?
The client wants to implement trunking at a later stage, and currenly only wants to create ISL between/expand the existing port count.
What we are looking to do is connect the 2 new 8/40 switches to existing pair of 4/32 switches. First, is this compatible? the 4/32 switches have fw version 6.2.0g
I am new to ISL and am trying to understand if this is required? ISL trunking is basically used to aggregate the connection between switcches?
The client currently only wants to install these 2 new switches to existing SAN and will look at ISL trunking at a later stage when 2 more 8/40 will be purchased.
In order to connect, I was looking through some posts, and people mention cascading? Will this automatically populate zones across to the 3rd and 4th switch? Will it provide failover capacity to existing paths, or will this new switch only connect additional servers and will not support paths for old servers? I am trying to understand how the mpio will work? and what steps we need to take?
4 REPLIES 4
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Re: Adding 2 8/40 switches to existing fabric

Hello,

what I like with fibre channel is that it's not so complicated :)

Trunking is indeed only used when you have more than two E_ports (ISL) between two switches ( I believe they need to be in the same port group as well ).
Trunking is not necessary for connectivity.
Together with exchange based routing it's pretty good.