6107 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: EVA 5000 LUN Presentation

jhetrick
Advisor

EVA 5000 LUN Presentation

Hi,
I have an EVA 5000 that I am responsible for and willingly admit I am not an expert. I have only had to create a couple of VDisks and now have an issue that I am unsure of. When I presented the LUN to the host it mapped it with two different LUN numbers...19 and 16 and I am sure this is not what it should do. The host system sees only the LUN 19, but I created a second VDisk and it assigned LUN 16...now I am concerned I cannot delete the new VDisk just in case it is associated to the other VDisk which has data on it.
For example:
VDiskProdVM06 is new and it now has LUN 19 and 16 presented

Presentations:
Hosts:
Server_C LUN 19
Server_D LUN 16

When I created another VDisk it presented as the following which I have not assigned data to:
Server_C LUN 16
I did not add the _D path yet just in case it selects a different LUN number as well!
I know this may not make too much sense so if I can clarify in any way I will. If you are use to the Command View Software, I am sure you know what I am talking about. My problem is I have data already mapped to the LUN 19├в ┬жso can I remove the second path LUN 16 and not have any issues? The host sees only LUN 19 that I can tell the _D path is just for failover.
Also├в ┬жwhy would it assign a different LUN number? I do not see an option to change the LUN number when I configured it.
Any help is greatly appreciated oh and if anyone knows were to find a manual on this that would be great. I found the user guide and it has 1 page of information on what I am looking for├в ┬жnot much! I attached a screenshot of what I see.
5 REPLIES 5
AWilliams_1
Trusted Contributor

Normally when a Vdisk is presented it selects the next available LUN number starting from LUN1. If you are presenting the LUN at the time of the VDISK creation (ie on the VDISK creation page) then you have to accept the default.