1748089 Members
5171 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: EVA vs. P4000

Paul Hutchings
Super Advisor

EVA vs. P4000

I've some familiarity with the P4000 as I've downloaded and used the virtual appliance.

What I've no knowledge of (other than the HP website) is the EVA4400.

In a few months our entire SAN/Server setup gets replaced (not HP right now) and I'm looking into LeftHand and also intend to look into the EVA.

I'd be interested if anyone has a bit of an overview of where the two families overlap or are completely different.

In particular I'm keen on the P4000 licensing model i.e. it's all included, as at some point I'll want to do snapshots (SQL and Exchange as well as file LUNs) and replication between SANs.

Thanks very much.
4 REPLIES 4
Jan Soska
Honored Contributor

Hello Paul,
the biggest difference is EVA is FC Array (with iScsi option) and Lefthand is iScsi option.
If you do not have build FC infrastructure - switches, HBA's in servers - probbly it is not worth to switch from iScsi to FC. Lefthand has as well very good options for remote mirroring/replications etc.

So - probably stay with Lefthand.

Jan
Paul Hutchings
Super Advisor

The servers will be replaced too, so whilst I know that FC will always be more expensive than iSCSI due to dedicated HBAs and FC switches, I'm not ruling it out due to not already having infrastructure, IYSWIM.

I guess what I'm unclear on is once you get beyond iSCSI vs. FC why might one look at EVA over P4000 or vice versa?
Jan Soska
Honored Contributor

Hello,
just to know -
you can buy specialized iScsi HBA's as well, the same witch dedicatd iScsi switched, but generaly iScsi is cheaper than FC.
Regarding performance - our HP account manager positionned both Eva4400 and LeftHand at the same performance level.

Jan
Benjamin Wold
Frequent Advisor