108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Help determining the right equipment for DC SAN

SOLVED
Go to solution
ReynierPM
Frequent Advisor

Help determining the right equipment for DC SAN

Hello: I'm new to these topics like SAN design for data centers but well my boss asked me and I have to do the job because otherwise it didn't pay me ;) Well my proposed equipment is:
(1) c7000 Enclosure + 6 Blades BL460c G6 (2P, 32GB RAM)
(1) EVA4400 2C4D configured (6 HDD per Drive at least)
(1) e71 MSL TL with 2D

I'm not clear wich connectivity equipment, preferably Cisco and 3Com, should I buy to connect all the equipment and also ensure redundancy and security in the data center. In addition to this DC around 30 laboratories with 31 PC development will be connected. Can any help me with the connectivity equipment needed to achieve such environment?
28 REPLIES 28
Prokopets
Respected Contributor

Hi!
i'm not sure about c7000 if you are going to buy only 6 blades. Are you planning upgrade? Look at c3000, it's smaller (eight half-height blades), cheaper and does the same as c7000.

As for connectivity.
1) SAN. I recommend you to use a pair of Brocade SAN switches (AJ820A) plus two transceivers for each (AJ716A)
2) Tape Library - i'm not sure, what do you mean under "e71 MSL TL with 2D"? As for me, you can use MSL 2024, but the exact model should depend on your backup sizes and backup scheme. It's very good if you already have one - in this case tape library configuration will be more accurate.
3) LAN. If you prefer Cisco, you can use Catalyst 3020 for c-class enclosures (410916-B21), or HP GbE2c (438030-B21) which is cheaper.
ReynierPM
Frequent Advisor

Ok, I use a c7000 because as far as I read it guarantee the redundancy on the enclosure system when c3000 doesn't at all.