1752585 Members
4471 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Help with setting up an EVA 5000

TimoI
Occasional Advisor

Help with setting up an EVA 5000

I am currently doing an internship in a very small IT firm and have been tasked with setting up an EVA 5000 system. It was removed from the production network of another company and delivered to us completely disassembled and unfortunately, the paper (or rather, rough sketch) describing how it was set up there was lost. My boss has no prior experience with such systems so being a novice, I have had to read through a dozen or so manuals to figure out how to assemble it. Now I've hit a brick wall.

The system came with the following components:

- 12 HP StorageWorks FC drive enclosures

- 2 hsv110 controllers

- 2 HP SW SAN 4/32 switches

- 2 HP SW SAN 2/16-EL switches

- 2 HP FC loop switches

- SilkWorm 200E switch (with 50-0000083-01 REV.B Volex-OS 05 04 serial-to-Ethernet adapter?)

- HP Openview Storage Management Appliance III

I have thus far connected the drive enclosures and controllers according to the manual and confirmed they are working correctly. I am now trying to connect the controllers to the management appliance.

- How do I  establish a connection from my computer to the management appliance? I have connected to it via Ethernet (tried both the iLO and regular Ethernet ports) but I have no idea what the IP address is. Not only that, but I'm not even sure if it's possible to manage it on a Windows 7 system and a recent version of Chrome. The manual only mentions Windows XP and browser versions from 10 years ago.

- I have currently connected the controllers to the management appliance with 2 LC-LC cables using the FP1 ports of the controllers. Is this correct?