HPE EVA Storage

I'm new to storage - possible failures except controllers and disks

SOLVED
Go to solution
George Mandiliotis
Occasional Advisor

I'm new to storage - possible failures except controllers and disks

Hello, i'm new to storage so my question may be stupid - sorry anyway.
If i have a new MSA 2000 series storage with two controllers and 2 nics, what other failures can i face beside some disk error or nic / controller failure? How possible is to have my storage down from a different failure.
Thank you in advance and i apologize for this generic question...
8 REPLIES 8
Eemans Dany
Honored Contributor

Re: I'm new to storage - possible failures except controllers and disks

Hi,

It seems everyting is redundant, to only thing i did not found in you question: do you have redundant PSU connect to differant powersources.
EG: PSU 1 to UPS 1 and PSU 2 to UPS 2 or directly to the powergrid.

Dany
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Do you have two servers as well or two NICs in one server?

Is it direct connected or do you have a switch inbetween?
George Mandiliotis
Occasional Advisor

Thank you all for your answers.
Ok the scenario we design is as this one:
-2 DL380 G6 servers with win2008r2 Ent Servers for Cluster (cluster service: SQL 2005) for high availability (with 5 nics, 2 for storage iscsi availability, 2 for lan availability and 1 for heartbeat).
-2 Procurve Enterprise Full Layer 3 - 48ports Gbit Switces interconnected with the two DL380 servers for high availability, with 2 vlans for each one, one for iscsi (tottaly isolated from production lan) and one for lan.
-1 MSA 2000 series Storage with two power supplies, two controllers and two nics, configured with RAID 6 Array, interconnected with the two Procurve switches for nic / controller / power high availability. We will use iSCSI protocol.
-2 independent PDU with power from two independend UPS (from different power lines).
So with this configuration are we archiving high availability right?