HPE EVA Storage
1753450 Members
5909 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Linux recognizes 2 SAN drives instead of 1 - StorageWorks P2000 + Redhat 5U7

c_k
Occasional Visitor

Linux recognizes 2 SAN drives instead of 1 - StorageWorks P2000 + Redhat 5U7

Hi, 

I will try to explain this as much as i can since i am not a SAN expert, i was found caught up in the installation and configuration of a SAN system, something i had no prior experience with as i come from a software development background.

I have the following environment now :

2 nodes with Redhat 5 update 7 64 bits

a StorageWorks P2000 G3 SAN system with 4 disks on which a RAID 10 virtual disk and a single volume were created.

an HP SAN fibre switch connecting the servers to the SAN with 2 controllers of the SAN connected to the switch

I installed the following rpms on linux 

HP SC08e 6GB 2-ports Ext PCIe SAS Host Bus Adapter for Linux : mpt2sas-5.10.05.00-2.rhel5.x86_64 

and 

HP fiber channel utility for Linux: fibreutils-3.2-3.x86_64

are these the right drivers that i need to install? the problem is that in my Linux i see two identical devices /dev/sda and /dev/sdb. It's like the system is seeing the disk twice, once through each of the connected controllers of the SAN.

ideas and insights much appreciated

8 REPLIES 8
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Re: Linux recognizes 2 SAN drives instead of 1 - StorageWorks P2000 + Redhat 5U7

Hi!

SC08e is a SAS card.

I don't think that rpm will help you.

What kind of HBA do you have in the servers?

What kind of servers is it?

If you can see the disks then the drivers are probably OK, but you may want to double-check what drivers is installed with what is available, maybe newer driver/hba firmware is advisible.

You need to configure multipathing on the servers.

On our SLC 5.1 it is done in /etc/multipath.conf

Sebastian.Koehler
Honored Contributor