3510 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Migrating EVA4400 into a new location, new IP

nibble
Super Advisor

Migrating EVA4400 into a new location, new IP

Hi,
I need to transfer our EVA4400 (2 enclosure, 2 controllers, 2 switches) to a new location, about 25KM from the temporary DR site. this means that i will have a new IP. Any tips or manuals that I need? Here's what I have in mind.
Pre movement
1. label all cables, etc..
2. shutdown sequence (??)
3. Unrack the equipment

New site
1. Rack the equipment
2. Change the IP (how do i change?)
3. ???

Im a bit new in EVA and the one incharge for this activity. Any tips, manuals, etc will be highly appreciated. Bytheway, some of the servers connected to the EVA will be transferred too.

Thanks,
11 REPLIES 11
Phillip Thayer
Esteemed Contributor

If you move the EVA4400 and the CV server gets moved with it, I would suggest taht you remove CV and install it again when you get it to the new location. If the host name or IP address changes on a CV system it will severly impact the usability of CV (in that it will not work.) Also, the link below has pretty much all the documentation you will need.

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/DocumentIndex.jsp?contentType=SupportManualтМй=en&cc=us&docIndexId=64179&taskId=101&prodTypeId=12169&prodSeriesId=3664763

Phil
Once it's in production it's all bugs after that.
Sheldon Smith
HPE Pro

"...it will severly impact the usability of CV (in that it will not work.)" Which I would expect to be nothing more than: going in to Command View, clicking on the Discover button to find the array, click on the array, be told it was last controlled by a different management server, click on the 'Yes, I want to take control, I know what I'm doing' button, and resuming management operation. The same as when there are two CV management servers. I would not expect there to be any need to remove and reinstall Command View.