5939 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Performance on MSA1000

TKreis
Occasional Advisor

Performance on MSA1000

Hi,

I am a trainee and i just started to work with SANs.

We got this MSA1000 with 4 Arrays, 2x2TB Raid5 consisting of 300MB Disks, 1x1.2TB same and 1x300GB Raid1.

The first point that seems kinda strange is the performance when reading from a single array, which is like 40-45 MB/s, that seems kinda really low to me.

And the second is that reading from multiple arrays doesn't reduce the performance on each array (going down to 35-40 MB/s).

Now i need a little hint what could cause a problem like that (if that is really a problem and not normal).

The MSA is connected to 3 different servers over FC with build-in FC-switch.

I know that i gave only very few information, but tbh i am not sure what would help.

Thx and regards
Tim
10 REPLIES 10
TKreis
Occasional Advisor

Some information i should add:

Firmware of MSA is 5.2

There are 4 arrays with a single logical drive on them each, already heard about the problem to have a single big array with several logical drives on them
Amol Garge
Trusted Contributor

Hi Tim,

Upload the show tech support from MSA.
TKreis
Occasional Advisor

I hope this is the right file
Greybeard
Esteemed Contributor

sounds not too bad actually, they're not the fastest things going. They are (were) only marketed as archival storage boxes, not intended for high availability or database work. To see how hard the system is working run >start perf from the CLI (on the serial port in the front of the controller. then >show perf to see the data, don't forget to type >stop perf when you're done. also connect to the switch and see the port throughput, default IP is 10.77.77.77 this should show the overall performance clearly. You don't say what Hosts, o/s etc. so that's all folks ;~)

> They are (were) only marketed as archival storage boxes

The MSA1000? You must be kidding!