HPE EVA Storage
1753792 Members
5780 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

State Status "No_Light" and "No_Module" Brocade 4/12 SAN Switch for C7000 Chasis

SOLVED
Go to solution
Feri_1
Occasional Advisor

State Status "No_Light" and "No_Module" Brocade 4/12 SAN Switch for C7000 Chasis

Dear IT Experts,

I am a newbie in SAN Switch system. Actually, I have a BL460c G5 server.

BL460c was attached to a C7000 Chasis. From OA, I can see that the server was installed at Bay 5 and it has 2 HBA port on it (it has 2 WWN).
But, when I tried creating Zone in SAN Switch, to attach this server to another, I could not find any of the "WWN" of the HBA.
From SAN Switch "swichshow" command, I got information "No_Module" on port 17 and "No_Light" 18.

From command "licenseport show" I got information that I have still have license for port 17 and port 18, but because of "No_Module" and "No_Light" status, maybe both port can not be used.

Can anybody help me what does status "No_light" and "No_Module" means? Do I need buy any other license port, so the BL460c WWN HBA can be detected by Brocade 4/12 SAN Switch?

Kindly need any help, please? I am stuck...

Thank you
7 REPLIES 7
Amar_Joshi
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: State Status "No_Light" and "No_Module" Brocade 4/12 SAN Switch for C7000 Chasis

Feri,
Since your blade is in bay5, you should be looking at port5.

I couldn't download the attachment you posted but also failed to understand why would you zone two servers? Is the other one storage server?

To see the server WWN appearing in switchshow command, you should have blade (in bay5) powered up.

Look at the SAN switch, port 17 (leftmost) has no module installed, port 18 (right to port 17) has an SFP installed but nothing connected.

Hope this helps.
Feri_1
Occasional Advisor

Re: State Status "No_Light" and "No_Module" Brocade 4/12 SAN Switch for C7000 Chasis

Dear Amardeep,