HPE EVA Storage

Wiping info from an EVA5000: un-initializing v. shutting down & killing LUNs

 
Vague Assumption
Frequent Advisor

Wiping info from an EVA5000: un-initializing v. shutting down & killing LUNs

I'm concerned about wiping information off an EVA 5000

 

I know I have two options:

 

1.  Un-initialize (which removes the WWN's, that I've preserved)

2.  Use the Command View EVA to delete the LUNs.

 

Will deleting the LUNs be enough to ensure that no one will be able to pull data off the drives in the event the unit is repurposed?  Will clearing the password via the Operator Control Panel leave the system open for the next user?

 

 

2 REPLIES 2
NSharon
Frequent Advisor

Re: Wiping info from an EVA5000: un-initializing v. shutting down & killing LUNs

Hi there,
Initialising the system would essentially clear data structures on the disk array, if thats what you want to do, wipe off the array clean, changing the password will still retain data on the disks.
I work for HP.

If you find my Post Useful please click on the thumbs up!
Ruben Renders
Frequent Advisor

Re: Wiping info from an EVA5000: un-initializing v. shutting down & killing LUNs

Hi,

 

If you really wan't to wipe all data, you should perform the following steps:

1. Unitialize the array (at this moment, a few bits are changed but data is still recoverable);

2. Initialize the array (this causes all metadata to be wiped).

 

Optionally, you can remove all disks before unitializing and initializing.

 

Ruben