5987 Online
108798 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: hp-ux data protector

tanislavm
Occasional Visitor

hp-ux data protector

hi,

I am new in data protector and i like to check if using hp-ux data protector between 2 SAN far apart how are the things:

- every I/O from a box within one site will goes first to the SAN in that site and then this SAN will send over the wan to the far apart SAN.
- from a box within one site how the disks are seen?As disks who pertain the each SAN or as disks to pertain only to the SAN from the site with the box?
- if there is some equipment between the 2 SANs acting like scsi initiator?
- the traffic between SANs is over special link and not involve any server?

tnx
marius

P.S.This thread has been moved from Storage>General  to Storage Area Networks (SAN) (Enterprise)- HP Forums Moderator
3 REPLIES 3
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Data Protector is a backup software.

Your questions seem to be more related to HP Continuous Access, the storage replication solution for HP EVA and XP storage arrays.

MK
tanislavm
Occasional Visitor

Hi MK or everyone,

I apologize to my mistake.I wish anyway the answer to my questions which are related to Data replication into an geografic or campus framework.

tnx.

marius

Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

I'm not a storage admin, and not really familiar with HP enterprise storage products (I've worked more with EMC storage). But I'll tell you what I know...

> - from a box within one site how the disks are seen?As disks who pertain the each SAN or as disks to pertain only to the SAN from the site with the box?

Usually the server will see just the LUNs from the local storage. But a manufacturer-specific information tool (like evainfo/xpinfo for HP storage) may be able to tell you that the LUNs are replicated to a remote storage system, the same way it might tell you the RAID level used for the LUNs.