108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: switch cables

unixuser
Advisor

switch cables

Hi all,

i am new to SAN but we SAN setup here so i need to know how we connect to
fc swicth from server and swicth to SAN storage.i came to know orrange cable are there.please correct me if i am wrong we have pair of orrange fiber cable wich is attach to switch.one cable goes to HBA of server and second goes to SAN storage of the same pair.quick reply will be highly appreciated.thanks a lot in advance.
8 REPLIES 8
V├нctor Cesp├│n
Honored Contributor

The servers and the storage they want to access have to be connected to the same switch. Then on the switch web you must configure the zoning to determine what servers can access what storage devices.

There are several rules regading zoning, but the best way to comply with all is to create a zone for each pair of host HBA and storage device port.
Brian M Welch
Frequent Advisor

Also, make sure you properly configure the pathing software for the HBA's. What type of SAN are you using? Host OS?
unixuser
Advisor

Hi vcespon,

thanks a lot for quick response, But i little bit confused that as you said switch web mean any web based application just like HP command view for creating zone.in order to create zone we need wwn of the server and swicth port and we need to create a host and lun or vdisk.what i have idea to create zone is first a new attach server to switch then
1) create the host by any name example my server rx8640 then i get the my server name under Hosts
2) create vdisk or lun by specifying size
3) By using wwn of server do i need present
server to swicth port,if so please
tell me how do i get switch port mean
where in HP command view or do i need to
present server to LUN

please correct me if any thing wrong.and how many HBAs in one server and WWn (world wide number is associted to the HBA or HBAs
of server).thanks a lot in advance
unixuser
Advisor

Hi brain welch,