HPE Nimble Storage Solution Specialists

CS300 not showing free space after deleting volumes

 
SOLVED
Go to solution
44ronj
Visitor

CS300 not showing free space after deleting volumes

Hello, I have deleted two volumes from the Nimble CS300 itself and a bunch of data from the hyper visors for other volumes, but I am not seeing any free space calimed. What am I missing? Running 5.0.10.100-940148-opt

8 REPLIES 8
sbhat09
HPE Pro

Re: CS300 not showing free space after deleting volumes

Hello @44ronj,

You will see the free space (as much physical data was occupied by the volumes before) after the housekeeping job completes. May be after 24 hours.

Regards,
Srinivas Bhat

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!
Note: All of my comments are my own and are not any official representation of the company.


I am an HPE Employee

Accept or Kudo

44ronj
Visitor

Re: CS300 not showing free space after deleting volumes

Yeah I was hoping it was the garbage collection going on, but it has now been 72 hours since.

44ronj
Visitor

Re: CS300 not showing free space after deleting volumes

It has been 72 hours now.

sbhat09
HPE Pro

Re: CS300 not showing free space after deleting volumes

Hello @44ronj.,

Ok. That has been quite long.

What was the used space of those volumes?
Are there any snapshots?
Are there dedup dependency still?
Are there any default settings that retain data for quite longer?

Regards,
Srinivas Bhat

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!
Note: All of my comments are my own and are not any official representation of the company.


I am an HPE Employee

Accept or Kudo

44ronj
Visitor

Re: CS300 not showing free space after deleting volumes

From Hyper-V there was about 6TB deleted
From the Nimble I deleted a 6TB volume, and a 1.2TB

 

Apologies for the questions, I am new to the company and Nimble storage. We will be replacing this soon as it is EOL. There is no warranty so contacting support is not an option.

I see a bunch of snapshots, but not sure if the volumes are included. Is there any harm in deleting older snapshots (older than 30 days)?

Where can I see dedup settings? I searched around and want to say no.
Where can I find the default settings you are curious about?

 

sbhat09
HPE Pro
Solution

Re: CS300 not showing free space after deleting volumes

Hello @44ronj,

I just mentioned the probable areas to look into. Please delete all the snapshots that are no more required.

And you deleted 13.2TB (6+6+1.2). Was that just the size of volumes? or actual used space?

I can come back with more details tomorrow or day after.

Regards,
Srinivas Bhat

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!
Note: All of my comments are my own and are not any official representation of the company.

 


I am an HPE Employee

Accept or Kudo

44ronj
Visitor

Re: CS300 not showing free space after deleting volumes

After asking that same question, I learn that only about 1.5 TB was deleted total. When I see "Total Usage" this is for actual data not allocated space correct?

sbhat09
HPE Pro

Re: CS300 not showing free space after deleting volumes

Hello @44ronj,

Yes, absolutely. Hope the puzzle is clear now.!

Regards,
Srinivas Bhat

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!
Note: All of my comments are my own and are not any official representation of the company.


I am an HPE Employee

Accept or Kudo