HPE OneView
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

SOLVED
Go to solution
thom_14
Regular Advisor

How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

I have OneView 1.2 installed and imported a couple of C7000 enclosures as 'managed'.   I played with it a bit, and now I want to "un-OneView" one of the enclosures and go back to the old VCM.  I removed the enclosure from the OneView, and it is no longer shown, but the OA Virtual Connect Manager and Flex10/10D module  Management Console links still re-direct to the OneView appliance.

 

How do I revert back to just VCM?

14 REPLIES
ChrisLynchHPE
Neighborhood Moderator

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

If you log into the OA CLI, and execute the "show vcmode" command, what is displayed?  Removing an enclosure from OneView is supposed to clear VCMode, remove NTP/SNMP/HPSIM SSO configuration from the OA, and similar to the iLO's.  If "show vcmode" shows "not enabled" or something like that, refresh your OA UI web browser view as it is likely stale browser cache.

thom_14
Regular Advisor

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

It shows Virtual Connect mode enabled, as well as the correct VC domain and URL.   If I ry to ssh to one of the modules, it tells me to go to the OneView IP and drops the connection; the browser gets re-directed there too.    When I connect to OneView, it still shows the other enclosure (the one I did not remove), which is legitimate.  I've even re-cycled the Flex10 modules.

ChrisLynchHPE
Neighborhood Moderator

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

Can you please explain the steps you performed when removing the enclosure from the HP OneView appliance?  Removing an enclosure should have removed all HP OneView configurations from the enclosure.  Can you please verify the OA you are accessing is the enclosure you removed from the appliance?  If there were any issues removing the enclosure from the appliance, the asnyc task will be in the Activity section of the UI, which you an filter for Tasks and status of Warning and Critical to view the most current tasks.

thom_14
Regular Advisor

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

To remove the enclosure: 

 

HP OneView -> Enclosures -> <select enc> -> Actions -> Remove  <wait a while>

 

Activity log shows:

 


Remove
 CSIMBE12 Enclosures Today 10:17:14 am Completed3m37s
Administrator

 

 

 


Remove servers and interconnects
Remove enclosure information

 


 
     

 

 Delete logical-interconnect  CSIMBE12-LI Today 10:17:16 am Completed8s  
 

 Release interconnect  CSIMBE12, interconnect 2 Today 10:17:17 am Completed  
 

 Release interconnect  CSIMBE12, interconnect 5 Today 10:17:18 am Completed  
 

 Release interconnect  CSIMBE12, interconnect 1 Today 10:17:18 am Completed  
 

 Release interconnect  CSIMBE12, interconnect 6 Today 10:17:19 am Completed  
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 2 Today 10:17:21 am Completed41s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 8 Today 10:17:21 am Completed44s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 4 Today 10:17:21 am Completed42s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 3 Today 10:17:21 am Completed53s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 6 Today 10:17:21 am Completed48s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 5 Today 10:17:21 am Completed47s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 7 Today 10:17:21 am Completed44s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 1 Today 10:17:21 am Completed47s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 9 Today 10:17:21 am Completed49s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 10 Today 10:17:21 am Completed43s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 11 Today 10:17:22 am Completed54s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 12 Today 10:17:22 am Completed47s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 15 Today 10:17:22 am Completed54s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 13 Today 10:17:22 am Completed54s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 16 Today 10:17:22 am Completed44s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.

 

 
 

 Remove  CSIMBE12, bay 14 Today 10:17:22 am Completed45s  

 


Remove configuration settings on iLO.
Remove server from appliance.
 
 

thom_14
Regular Advisor

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

There was a little bit of whining when I originally added the enclosure; here's all of the Ciritical and Warning messages:

 

 

The interconnect module is absent. An HP VC FlexFabric 10Gb/24-Port Module is expected.

CSIMBE12, interconnect 5 Interconnects Today 8:32:57 am

State
Cleared
  1. Active
  2. Cleared
Assign
unassigned
  1. unassigned

 

error

The interconnect module is absent. An HP VC FlexFabric 10Gb/24-Port Module is expected.

CSIMBE12, interconnect 5 Interconnects Today 8:32:55 am

State
Cleared
  1. Active
  2. Cleared
Assign
unassigned
  1. unassigned

 

error

The interconnect module is absent. An HP VC Flex-10/10D Module is expected.

CSIMBE12, interconnect 1 Interconnects Today 8:32:55 am

State
Cleared
  1. Active
  2. Cleared
Assign
unassigned
  1. unassigned

 

error

The interconnect module is absent. An HP VC Flex-10/10D Module is expected.

CSIMBE12, interconnect 1 Interconnects Today 8:32:54 am

State
Cleared
  1. Active
  2. Cleared
Assign
unassigned
  1. unassigned

 

error

The interconnect module is absent. An HP VC Flex-10/10D Module is expected.

CSIMBE12, interconnect 2 Interconnects Today 8:32:52 am

State
Cleared
  1. Active
  2. Cleared
Assign
unassigned
  1. unassigned

 

error

The interconnect module is absent. An HP VC Flex-10/10D Module is expected.

CSIMBE12, interconnect 2 Interconnects Today 8:32:52 am

State
Cleared
  1. Active
  2. Cleared
Assign
unassigned
  1. unassigned

 

error

The interconnect module is absent. An HP VC FlexFabric 10Gb/24-Port Module is expected.

CSIMBE12, interconnect 6 Interconnects Today 8:32:50 am

State
Cleared
  1. Active
  2. Cleared
Assign
unassigned
  1. unassigned

 

error

The interconnect module is absent. An HP VC FlexFabric 10Gb/24-Port Module is expected.

ChrisLynchHPE
Neighborhood Moderator

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

So, are you sure you are looking at the correct enclosure's OA?  Have you cleared your browser cache or issues a Refresh Toplogy within the OA view?  Also, removing the enclosure from OneView is the  major step, but you shoudl also reboot the VC interconnects.  The OA should show that vcmode is not enabled.

thom_14
Regular Advisor

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

I've rebooted both modules, and OA shows that VC mode is enabled.   Attached is a screenshot showing that only the other enclosure in imported.

 

CSIMBE12> show vcmode

Virtual Connect Mode: Enabled
Virtual Connect Domain Name: CSIMBE12_vc_domain
Virtual Connect URLs:
        http://10.50.4.2/ (Default)

 

 

# ssh Administrator@10.50.4.2
Warning: Permanently added '10.50.4.2' (RSA) to the list of known hosts.
CIC Managed
Password:
Last login: Wed Mar 11 18:25:29 2015 from 10.50.248.205
Virtual Connect Manager not found at this IP address.
Please use IP Address: 10.50.50.50

Connection to 10.50.4.2 closed.

 

I tried to re-add the enclosure:

 

Unable to add enclosure: 10.50.4.1

The enclosure is already managed by Virtual Connect Manager and may be migrated into OneView.
Resolution: To migrate this enclosure, choose "Migrate from Virtual Connect domain" from the enclosure group selector. Alternately, selecting to force add the enclosure will remove all Virtual Connect configuration and make the enclosure unmanageable by Virtual Connect Manager. To forcibly add this enclosure without preserving configuration, specify the force option and add the enclosure again.
ChrisLynchHPE
Neighborhood Moderator
Solution

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

Something is certainly off here.  The VC Domain Name when HP OneView has claimed an enclosure for management is called "OneViewDomain", not "CSIMBE12_vc_domain".  What you should do at this point are the following 2 steps:

 

1. Execute clear vcmode from the OA CLI

2. Phyiscally swap the interconnects in bays 1 and 2.

 

IF there is an active VC Domain present, this will force clear the configuration, and allow you to start completely over with VCM.  So it is never advised to do this in production, or when trying to recover an environment.

thom_14
Regular Advisor

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

This isn't a production enclosure yet, so I guess could also just lobotomize the VCM modules via the DIP switches.

ChrisLynchHPE
Neighborhood Moderator

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

You can, but physically swapping may be faster.

thom_14
Regular Advisor

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

The nuclear option of 'clear vcmode' seems to have done the trick; I'm now back in the normal VCM interface, but I didn't swap the modules.

ChrisLynchHPE
Neighborhood Moderator

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

Glad to hear that.  It seems like OneView didn't clear vcmode when removing it from the appliance, or the command was never processed, which should not be the case.

thom_14
Regular Advisor

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

I spoke too soon; as soon as I went to configure the VCM domain, I got kicked out and it went back to OneView.   I'll clear VC mode again and then go down and swap the modules.

thom_14
Regular Advisor

Re: How do I migrate from OneView back to VCM?

Clearing the VC mode and swapping the modules worked - thanks!