108795 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Simplivity Health Check and Monitoring

Ogy_Ramos
Occasional Visitor

Simplivity Health Check and Monitoring

Hello guys,

Good Day!

We've recently implemented 2 nodes of Simplivity on our environment and I'm quite new with it. Just want to ask if there is a best practice or standards on how we monitor the health check our Simplivity Servers so that I can include it on our daily routine checks.

Thank you!

5 REPLIES 5
scott_svt
Frequent Advisor

Hi @Ogy_Ramos,

Thanks for your post - It's an interesting question for new users.

How far you want to go, depends on what you are intersted in capturing and the tools you have at your disposal. This can range from a basic queck for alerts and alarms in vCenter (all HPE SimpliVity alarms are reflected against the objects directly in the vCenter inventory), right the way through a scrape of the REST API, where you can begin to generate trending data around capacity, number of backups, VM growth etc. Obviously this takes some coding skills, but you may have this in-house.

Perhaps if you could share the kind of checks that you like to perform for your standard vCenter environments? I can then match the same kind of content from the HPE SimpliVity side.

Thanks,

Scott

Accept or Kudo
Ogy_Ramos
Occasional Visitor

Hi Scott,

Thanks for your reply! I think the basic check for alarms and alerts will be the best foundation for us newbies. Currently when I'm exploring around the vCenter i tend to click every button that I can but to sum it up I still don't know which one needs to be prioritized. Hope you can give me a guideline regarding this.

Thank you very much!

Ogy_Ramos

scott_svt
Frequent Advisor

Hi @Ogy_Ramos,

Perfect - Good to clarify these things! :-)

All you need to focus on are the vCenter Alerts. These will give you key insight in to what is going on with the system and you can act accordingly. They are detailed here: