3393 Online
108757 Solutions
New Discussion

Consolidation Hyper-V 2012 and HP VSA

RANZ
Occasional Visitor

Consolidation Hyper-V 2012 and HP VSA

Hello,

Newbie here. New to virtual storage and SAN. Still getting my head around the dos and don't..

We are in the process of consolidating and virtualizing some of our servers with intent to virtualize most over certain time. It would be good to get our current plan QA'ed

Current environment - 2 DC 2in 2003 and 2008R2, couple of mixed SQL servers, few application servers, Exchange 2003, Sharepoint 2007, Backup-disk-tape, All HP servers mostly Gen 5 couple of Gen 6 and Dl380 G7server

Plan-

To begin with use DL380 G7 server as the Host for Hyper-V 2012 fill it up with 900GB 10K disk. Use HP VSA for virtual storage.

Setup a new Exchange server to transition to Exchange 2010.

P2V an application server running on DL320 G6 and move it to the new Hyper-V server.

Use the now freed up DL320 G6 to convert into a new Hyper-V 2012 host. Fill it up with 10K disks. Install HP VSA and cluster the 2 VSA's.

Add more P2V servers to the host. As time goes add one more Hyper-V host(DL380G5) with VSA to make it part of the cluster.

Ideally it would have been nice to start with 2 Hosts to begin with but we have to utilize our existing hardware as much as we can.

Will this plan work. How easy is it for add more storage (which will come with the new hosts) to the HP VSA cluster. How will the storage redundancy work in the first instance when i will only have one server as the host for some time till i migrate/convert one physical server to virtual to free up the physical host.

Any suggestions would be appreciated...

1 REPLY 1
oikjn
Honored Contributor

Re: Consolidation Hyper-V 2012 and HP VSA