108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

DSM Load Balance Options???

SOLVED
Go to solution
tomb_2
Occasional Advisor

DSM Load Balance Options???

So I see in the documentation that you should be able to use Fail Over Only (which I gather is what Vendor Specific is...) and Round Robin. Whenever I try to change the LB Policy to Round Robin, however, I get a message box that says:

Set New MPIO Policy
The request is not supported.

This is with the 8.5 and 9.0 version of the DSM. I'll admit that I am new to HP SANs (just migrated from another Vendors' SAN solution) but I don't believe I am missing anything. Should I be able to do this?

It also appears you cannot enable the iSCSI HBA function of the ProLiant multifunction NICs with the HP solution. Could anyone verify that is true for me?

Thanks!
7 REPLIES 7
Fred Blum
Valued Contributor
Solution

Re: DSM Load Balance Options???

Hi,

I struggled with this also but have finally gotten it right with DSM MPIO 9.

Problem was that I was testing and experimenting with different settings and maybe not always cleaning up behind me, teamed nics, ALB (=TLB), flow control and package size, then MPIO, and DSM MPIO 8.5 and DSM MPIO 9.

For W2008 R2 Failover cluster service I need MPIO, as teamed nics is not supported per the Validate Cluster Wizard so I stuck with that and a clean install.

I configured two NICs for the SAN in Network Config, I only enabled IP4 and HP NC config components. Set different fixed IP adresses within the same subnet in IP4, named them iSCSI NIC1 and iSCSI NIC2. In HP Network Configurator I opened the properties of these NICs, clicked iSCSI device, leaving the IP adress empty. Optionally I set Jumbo Package size and Flow Control as I have set them in my SAN and switch also. Closed HP NC.

Installed MS MPIO feature. Installed the HP DSM MPIO Windows software solution.