New Discussion юеВ

ESX, VSA, CMC and HP Procurve setup

SOLVED
Go to solution
SLAING
Occasional Advisor

ESX, VSA, CMC and HP Procurve setup

Hi all,

I recently purchased an HP Virtualization bundle and am trying to get it up and running and not having much luck. your help with the config below is GREATLY appreciated! :)

FYI - i'm new to this, so please be gentle...

I have two ESX hosts with six nics each. I've installed ESX and configured the vswitches etc. (see attached pic - not 100% on this config).

I've configured the included HP Procurve 2510G switch for four VLANs as follows:

Default_VLAN: ports 9-12 and 24 (untagged)
VLAN-200 (iSCSI-VSA): ports 1 - 4 (tagged)
VLAN-201 (VMotion): ports 5 - 8 (untagged)
VLAN-666: all unused ports 13 - 23 (untagged)

The HP Procurve switch port#24 connects directly to my production LAN Cisco switch. (That is probably not the best way to do this - if at all - but again not sure how to best set this up).

I've got the CMC installed on my laptop which is on the production LAN. I am trying to add the VSAs to the CMC but it cannot find them. I know i've missed something here but not sure where, can you please shed some light?

thanks,
6 REPLIES 6
SLAING
Occasional Advisor

Re: ESX, VSA, CMC and HP Procurve setup

I forgot to also add:

NICs 3 and 5 on each ESX host run to ports 9 - 12 on HP switch.

NICs 1 and 4 on each ESX host run to ports 1 - 4 on HP Switch.

NICs 0 and 2 on each ESX host run to ports 5 - 8 on HP switch.

thanks.
teledata
Respected Contributor
Solution

You will need to configure routing between the VLANs, or create some rules on your gateway (firewall) to route your LAN to your iSCSI LAN for management traffic.

Alternatively you could assign your LAPTOP an IP address on the iSCSI LAN, and plug it into the iSCSI VLAN on the switch

Also - to take advantage of storage multipathing on vSphere 4 you will need 2 VMkernel ports, each bound to (only 1) separate physical NICs.
http://www.tdonline.com