New Discussion

Re: Extend iSCSI storage to 4 nodes

SOLVED
Go to solution
Tony_
Occasional Advisor

Extend iSCSI storage to 4 nodes

Hello

I'm working for a small company with approx 500 pcs. Our virtual environments storage consist of 2x HP StoreVirtual 4330 configured with Network-Raid-10 (2 way-mirror) . We are running approx 20 vms today from this storage.

We are going to extend the storage this year, and because I'm new to SAN storage (this is the only san I've admninistered) I need suggestions what is the best option for us. All equipment will be placed in the same serverrack, but this may change in the future. The extended storage will be used mainly for vms running different services, databases etc, but also for filestorage. I hope someone can answer my questions below.

The plan is to buy 2 more of the HP StoreVirtual 4330 model OR 2 HP StoreVirtual 4130

1.  Are we required to buy the same model if we want so use the new nodes in the same cluster? (if we buy 4130 the disk size is different than the 4330 model).

2. Suggestions regarding Network-Raid level when we have 4-systems? (I've read that we shouldn't use Raid 5 or 6 when we use databases and so on on this storage)

3. Is the best option to add the new nodes to the same cluster or to configure a new 2-node cluster?

Thanks in advance!

Regards

Tony

P.S. This thread has been moved from Storage Area Networks (SAN) (Small and Medium Business) to HP StoreVirtual Storage / LeftHand. - Hp Forum Moderator

10 REPLIES 10
oikjn
Honored Contributor