Storage Boards Cleanup
To make it easier to find information about HPE Storage products and solutions, we are doing spring cleaning. This includes consolidation of some older boards, and a simpler structure that more accurately reflects how people use HPE Storage.
HPE StoreVirtual Storage / LeftHand
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HP 4500 G2 14.4 Configuration Theory

L1nklight
Valued Contributor

HP 4500 G2 14.4 Configuration Theory

Hey everyone,

I am currently working with the HP 4500 G2 (14.4 Tb version). I have a pair of them so I hope to be setting up redundancy. Just for clarification, I have a total of 4 HP 4500 G2 shelves, each one containing (12) 600 gig SAS drives. I am mostly familiar with the DS series from IBM as I have worked with those for about 6 years and I am rather new to the 4500s. These storage devices will be providing storage to our VMware environment (vSphere 5). While a  majority of our I/O operations will be relegated to WebApp work we will have some SQL servers planned out. Whether or not they will use RDMs directly from the 4500s or if they will simply use vmdk files cut from existing VMFS volumes is yet to be seen.

I have questions about best practices for configuring the 4500 specifically. For example, those of you with similar configurations: Do you use a mix of RAID 5 and RAID 10? Is it necessary to consider RAID 10 when you use and configure network RAID (for redundancy)? Holding spindle count the same, do you see signficant I/O improvements between RAID 5 and RAID 10 on these devices (performance)?

Thanks in advance and if there is some thought provoking feedback I may have other questions.