StoreVirtual Storage
1752273 Members
4819 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: HP StoreVirtual VSA Networking on vSphere??

Tom Lyczko
Super Advisor

HP StoreVirtual VSA Networking on vSphere??

I've read various websites about installing the SV VSA but I can't recall any of them mentioning how to configure the ESXi host's vSwitch for the VSA.

Is this done like with a SAN -- e.g. an MSA??

I'm assuming the VSA needs its own VLAN on the switch like the MSA does.

The attachment shows how we have an MSA set up on a vSphere host, would the VSA be set up the same way??
I'm completely new to this and hope someone(s) would be willing to offer advice.

We will set up two VSAs on two ESXi hosts, each with disk drives in RAID 5 with a global spare, then set up NR 10 to make them redundant.

Thank you, Tom

network-Capture.PNG

10 REPLIES 10
a_o
Valued Contributor

I'm not sure what question you're asking per-se.

But I'm guessing that since MSA's are not hosted on ESX hosts, you're asking about how to setup networking for hosting StoreVirtual VSA on ESXi.

There's a best practice document from HP that documents this.

Guide

However, I followed this guide when setting up an ESXi testbed.

http://vmfocus.com/2012/09/27/part-1-how-to-install-configure-hp-storevirtual-vsa-on-vsphere-5-1/

http://vmfocus.com/2012/10/01/part-2-how-to-install-configure-hp-storevirtual-vsa-on-vsphere-5-1/

Tom Lyczko
Super Advisor

When I said MSA, I meant MSA SAN. MSA SANs do connect and function with vSphere hosts, and our MSA SAN is configured as shown in the diagram.

I want to know if the VSA is configured with a vSwitch in the ESXi host in the same way the MSA SAN is connected to its own vSwitch...or if it should be done differently etc.