HPE StoreVirtual Storage / LeftHand
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

limiting retention for primary snapshots using Remote-Copy Snapshots

jtonkinson
Occasional Visitor

limiting retention for primary snapshots using Remote-Copy Snapshots

Hi,
Just installed a p4500 to Store Remote Snapshots only, from our existing LH volumes. Created Remote Snapshots for six of our volumes pointing to new cluster as destination (new cluster- ver 8.1, existing NSM's are running ver 8). During setup, I set retention on primary snapshot to 1 hour, hoping to auto-delete all the snapshots on the "Live" side, only keeping them on the remote snapshot cluster. But so far, the last snapshot taken remains in place on the live side. ? Why?
I want to maximize non-partitioned space on my other NSM's, to keep enough room for our volumes.
Do I have to upgrade our other NSM's to ver 8.1 b4 this will work?
Should I set retention to 0 (zero) ?
Thanks

 

 

P.S. This thread has been moved from Storage Area Networks (SAN) (Enterprise) to HP StoreVirtual Storage / LeftHand. - Hp Forum moderator