cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Deploy Device Software - Failed - SSH or SFTP CLI error

weird_harold
Occasional Contributor

Deploy Device Software - Failed - SSH or SFTP CLI error

I am fairly new to IMC and I am unable to update my switch's (2910al-24G POE) software via IMC.

Below are the details of the failed task.

Upload software to device from iMC Server by script.

SSH or SFTP CLI error.

Check the following: 

1. The SSH and SFTP configuration is correct. 
2. The CLI format in file /iMC/server/conf/ssh_sftp_client.cfg is correct. 
3. The SSH and FTP client names are the same as those in file ssh_sftp_client.cfg 

I do not believe it is an SSH issue as I am able to import software from the same switch into my Software Library.

Below are the details of my ssh_sftp_client.cfg

#windows putty

ssh-cmd = plink.exe [-i $key-file] $user-name@$device-ip
sftp-cmd = psftp.exe [-i $key-file] $user-name@$device-ip

Both executables are located in my iMC\server\bin directory.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any help.

7 REPLIES 7
weird_harold
Occasional Contributor

Re: Deploy Device Software - Failed - SSH or SFTP CLI error

So it looks like it was a user error. I had a typo in the SFTP CLient setting located under System Settings.

I am now able to deploy the software to the switch but it fails to reboot and actually update it as the startup software.

LindsayHill
Honored Contributor

Why did you change the SFTP client setting?
weird_harold
Occasional Contributor

I don't recall why, it's been a while since we installed IMC and now. I think because we initially had the Putty files located in a seperate directory and not the iMC\server\bin directory.

Any thoughts on why the switch fails to reboot during the softwre upgrade? I see another user has the same issue.