5140 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion

New 7.3 P2 user - a few questions relating to setup

SKBC
Occasional Contributor

New 7.3 P2 user - a few questions relating to setup

Good evening all.

I am an infrastructure engineer working with HP IMC for the first time, I have to admit i do like this application very much compared to the old application (was awful)

I am having a few issues\questions though, i wonder if anyone would be able to give me guidance \ advice.

1) I have a colour blind member of IT staff in my team who cannot see a diference between red and green, are we able to change the colours of the status indicators

2) Device view - The device view lists devices as switches, however when you go into the actual switch, it shows it as a switch (stack), is there a way to make the device view show (stack) on the list?

3) Reports - The reports view seems to be very blocky, and does not seem to be able to show me all of the fields i see within the device view, i would like to create an email report, does anyone have any guidance notes.

4) MIBS - is it really as simple as selecting them, compiling them, enabling them in MIB management, do i have to anything else, to link the MIB to the device?

5) Adaptor files\third party devices - BIG ISSUE - We use a handfull of Dell N2000 and N3000 series switches.

a) I cannot see topology

b) I cannot backup the device

c) i cannot read the device config

d) i cannot read the device firmware version

e) i cannot see mib related data such as CPU load etc...

I am sure the adaptor file is the issue, however i know the device works using the same comandset as CISCO devices which work fine within HP IMC, i just do not seem to be able to get IMC to use the correct commands, despite using the intentional adaptor files. I get errors  such as Unable to execute script, or missing enable password. The HP guide manual does not really help me too much on diagnosing the issues.