New Discussion

iMC add Device

SOLVED
Go to solution
IUKL
Frequent Visitor

iMC add Device

I'm new in iMC and got a Trial Version.

Now i add a Device. It is an 5412zl / J8698A with Software K.15.15.0014.

After adding, the Device is shown as Device-Type "Desktop". No Ports, vlan etc.

Can anyone give me a hint. Thanks.

3 REPLIES 3
Ian Vaughan
Honored Contributor

Re: iMC add Device

Hello,

Devices discovered as Desktop in IMC probably haven't been able to have a proper SNMP conversation between the IMC server and the device.

On the switch - Check your community strings if you are v2 and your authentication string and v3 group name if you are indeed using the recommended v3 "secure" version that at least uses a bit of crypto.

On IMC server - check that the SNMP settings - either individual auth strings or part of a profile (I think they call it a template for SNMP settings) - match what is on the switch.

Just keep doing re-sync / rrefresh once you have checked & fixed the credentials and you'll know when it is right as the model of the device will suddenly change to the correct details.

Let us know how you get on

Cheers

Ian

Hope that helps - please click "Thumbs up" for Kudos if it does
## ---------------------------------------------------------------------------##
Which is the only cheese that is made backwards?
Edam!
Tweets: @2techie4me
IUKL
Frequent Visitor
Solution

Thank's a lot.

I have to shut down the personal firewall too.

I later check the ports for iMC and Snmp.

Ian Vaughan
Honored Contributor

Howdy,

You don't need to turn the firewall off - just poke some holes through it - this should help, hopefully it is still up to date:

Firewall ports for IMC server traffic (inbound)

TCP8443 (iMC web service – secured traffic),

UDP161-162 (SNMP & SNMP trap),

UDP514-515 (Syslog)

UDP6343, UDP9020-9021 (sFlow & Netflow ports),

TCP22 (SSH & SFTP)*,

TCP20-21 (FTP)**

UDP69 (TFTP) **

IMC server to remote database instance: