108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: VTL caller id programming in Dial plan

SOLVED
Go to solution
MSBob
Occasional Contributor

VTL caller id programming in Dial plan

Hi, I'm new to setting up the dial plan to use VTLs.  I have two NBXs that I'm trying to link and have been mostly successful in my attempts.

Site A: 192.168.0.9           3 digit dial plan, extensions in 100s, 200s, 300s, 400s, 500s

Site B: 192.168.9.9           4 digit dial plan, extensions in  1000s, 1100s, 1200s, 1300s, 1400s, 1500s

I have a VTL password set up, let's say is is 12345678

I'm using # as the site code due to every number having a conflict of some kind (poor planning of the systems before I took over administration).

I can make calls between site extensions just fine, and I can call out on pri lines of each system fine.  My problem comes in regards to caller id.

I have a pretranslator set up on both systems that successfully strips the IP off and prepends a # when an extension from site A calls site B and vice versa (prepended # is so users can return the call by selecting it in the phones LCD log).  However I have no idea how to correctly do a pretranslator so when a site A phone uses a site B line that it outputs the caller id information from site A (and again vice versa).

So say site A is caller id information (555)-999-9999 and site B is (999)-555-5555.  When a site A phone grabs a line from site B (only used in emergencies like T1 down) I want the caller id info of (555)-999-9999 still to be outputted.

I've done plenty of pretranslator on each system to do different caller id info for different ranges of extensions but I have no clue where to start in this case.  I'm probably missing somehting simple.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

7 REPLIES 7
merlin215
Valued Contributor
Solution

3KB / Pyxis Solution ID - 3KB6239

By default, when setting up NBX dial plans for VTL, the Caller ID will be in the form: