IT Operations Management (ITOM)
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

David Gilmour and the music of IT Operations

Ian_Bromehead ‎12-02-2014 09:51 AM - edited ‎12-03-2014 10:06 AM

Music lovers worldwide hum to the melodic tunes of David Gilmour, long time musician with Pink Floyd. As I was watching a recorded concert of David and friends, in an interview Robert Wyatt explained why in his view David is such a great musician. "David's such a terrific guitar player because he's got a sense of the whole piece of music.”

Gilmour is one of my favourites and I listen continuously to his music. Although I am no musician,I think Wyatt is right in this observation, and his observation has helped me better understand why I find Gilmour’s music so pleasing.

Image courtesy of David Gilmour.com

In fact Wyatt’s point of view struck a chord (pun accidental) with my thoughts on issues facing IT Operations. As Wyatt says, it’s Gilmour’s holistic understanding of the whole piece of music that makes each song a success and delight. I saw an analogy with the task at hand in IT Operations Surely by having the means to understand the end-to-end picture of the state of IT services and resources, IT operations is allowed perform better, just like Gilmour.

I mean, how does exploiting resource or domain managers that each cover a piece part of the overall picture of IT status define the path to the sweetest music of IT?
(Hopefully you get the analogy.)

At HP Discover in Barcelona, we’ll sing a new song, announcing the new features of Operations Bridge. I will cover some of these features in my next blog. “Barcelona-1 HP-3”.

Today I want to explain how, as Wyatt observes, the capacity to view the whole picture, end-to-end, top-to-bottom, applies to IT operations. We find that it’s a key reason that people have adopted Operations Bridge, because it provides a single pane of glass to gain visibility of the “state” of IT.