108791 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Can this be done?

SOLVED
Go to solution
jason thompson_1
Frequent Advisor

Can this be done?

I have a 9000/800 K460 box hpux 10.20 and a 9000/800 I70 box also 10.20. The K460 has ignite installed. The I70 has a corrupt kernel and will not boot beyond CM> (command mode) and the ISL. There is not a backup of the I70 and the vmunix.prev in /stand is crap as well. Can the 460 be used to make a bootable dds that will work on the I70 and allow me to rebuild the kernel? If so does anyone have a procedure for this?
What's that smell?
12 REPLIES 12
Vicente Sanchez_3
Respected Contributor

Re: Can this be done?

Hi jason,

Has you tried to boot from the recovery cd?

If you can boot from it, there is a boot option that create a standard kernel vmunix.

Once the machine has booted, you can try to rebuild the original kernel.

Hope this help.
S.K. Chan
Honored Contributor

The K's and I's has different architecture, though I've never tried this before I'm sure it would not work. You probably stand a better chance if you had another "closer" model like I50, G50, etc. With no backup, it's going to be hard, if you have some kind of backup you can still boot from the recovery cd and restore the kernel ..
One last chance is do you have any "possible" kernel backed up apart from the standard vmunix.prev ? Sometimes I make a copy of my vmunix to vmunix.good to make sure that's un-touched.
jason thompson_1
Frequent Advisor

The box in question does not have a cdrom drive attached. However, I do have a DVD drive I could attach to it. The only issue I might then have is how to determine the hardware path to the DVD drive for booting.
What's that smell?
Ted Ellis_2
Honored Contributor
Solution

hook up the dvd... interrupt the reboot at the 10 seconds prompt. Run the sea command to find bootable devices. You should be able to pull it out from the other devices based on hardware path.