Operating System - HP-UX
1752810 Members
6006 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Proper make_tape_recovery syntax when using -x inc_entire with multiple volume groups

Michael Logan

Proper make_tape_recovery syntax when using -x inc_entire with multiple volume groups

I'm a newbie... you probably can figure that out based on my question.

I'm trying to run make_tape_recovery on an entire volume group (vg00) as well as specific disks. Not sure if I worded that properly. Hopefully you can decipher what I'm trying to do based on the following syntax. This is my version of what I want to do:

make_tape_recovery -v -x inc_entire=vg00 /dev/vg01/lvol2 /dev/vg02/lvol7

Is something like that possible? Any help that you can offer would be greatly appreciated.
6 REPLIES 6
Marco Santerre
Honored Contributor

Re: Proper make_tape_recovery syntax when using -x inc_entire with multiple volume groups

Instead of using the logical volume names, all you have to do is specify the mount point in the command line .. eg. :

make_tape_recovery -x inc_entire=vg00 -x inc_cross=/mountpoint1 -x inc_cross=/mountpoint2

though I've never used those specific commands, it is all listed in the man pages of the make_tape_recovery
Cooperation is doing with a smile what you have to do anyhow.
James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

Hi Michael:

If you want to include all of 'vg00' *and* include logical volume 'lvol2' and 'lvol7' of 'vg02' use the filesystem name mounted on them. For instance, if they were "apps2" and "apps7" do:

# make_tape_recovery -x inc_entire=vg00 -x include=/apps2 -x include=/apps7 -I -v -a /dev/rmt/0mn

Notice that I explicitly added the tepe device specification. I also added the '-I' flag, which causes the Ignite process to be interactive when booting from tape. The '-x' flag is replicated for every option case.

Regards!

...JRF...
Helen French
Honored Contributor