1751756 Members
4704 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion

Simple (Ha!) Ignite usage query

malc_p
Occasional Advisor

Simple (Ha!) Ignite usage query

Hi all - please be gentle with me but I am new to Ignite (and not really an HP-UX sysadmin, I just seem to have inherited the role, I'm just a DBA really)...

We're converting our old HP-UX 11i HP9000/Infomix database system to run on a Virtual server on an Itanium host and have most of the i's dotted and t's crossed, it's all working tickety-boo.

Now we need to set up disaster recovery to be able to take nightly backups to tape which will be kept off-site so in the event of The Bomb falling on HQ we can take those tapes and plug them into a machine at a DR provider's site and get the company back up and running toute-suite.

A consultant has recommended to us that we build this around the following strategy:

• Ad-hoc "Ignite" backup to tape of the host Itanium box, renewed in the event of patching etc.
  • Ad-hoc container export (srp -export) of the HP9000 containers, renewed in the event of config changes
  • Nightly fbackups in the containers of the apps to be recovered
  • Nightly database backups

The last three stages are easy and especially the last two, which we've done for ages with repeatable success. The srp exports are fine, too, we've tried and tested them. I do, however, need to really get to grips with Ignite-UX. The manuals are a maze of seemingly conflicting sections (e.g. in the Admin Guide, Chapter 14: "Recovery image creation is described in Chapter 15: Recovery" but then Chapter 15 says: "If you wish to create recovery image media, see Chapter 14". Er?)