108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: create a bootable CD based on a bootable tape

SOLVED
Go to solution
kholikt
Super Advisor

create a bootable CD based on a bootable tape

Is that possible to create a bootable CD based on the content of my make_boot_tape? My ignite ux is located in different subnet and I don't want to setup the boothelper.

I have read through the documentation about how to create customize media in Ignite_UX but this is only for creation of archive.

I still want my archive to store in my Ignite UX server, I want to boot my client from the CD and recover through my Ignite UX server as some servers do not have tape drive attached.
abc
4 REPLIES 4
Brian Markus
Valued Contributor

I've used a program called cdroast on linux to make bootable cd's. I've never tried it on hpux before. Is your burner hanging off of your pc or your hpux server? dd probabily would work to push it off to cd.

Try the linux documentation project page
http://www.linuxdoc.org/ I find a lot of information on that site, then adapt it into my hpux world. :)

Hope that points you in the right direction.

Brian
When a sys-admin say's maybe, they don't mean 'yes'!
Michael Roberts_3
Honored Contributor
Solution

If you've already run make_boot_tape and the tape is at /dev/rmt/0m then you can:

dd if=/dev/rmt/0m of=/var/tmp/cdlif bs=2k

If you are using cdrecord for HP-UX and your cdrw is at /dev/dsk/c1t4d0 then you can:

cdrecord -eject -v dev=1,4,0 -data speed=4 /var/tmp/cdlif

The CD burning software you use must allow for doing raw writes to the CD, ie it doesn't automatically wrap an ISO filesystem around the lif file. The HP-UX bootloader won't find the bootfiles if they are in an ISO filesystem.
etouq ot hguone revelc ton m'i
kholikt
Super Advisor

Thanks for the tips.

May I know is there any software in Windows that will be able to copy the file in raw mode
abc
Sudip Hore_1
Occasional Contributor

Hi,