Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HP IR Volume?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Doug Short
Advisor

HP IR Volume?

I am new to the Itanium class world so please be gentle...

I am configuring an ia64 rx6600 server. It has (2) physical internal 146gb disks on the SAS controller. These are apparently in some sort of internal raid configuration as when I do an ioscan I only have one path to the disks. I was unaware at time of purchase that these disks were in an internal raid (if I'm even right in my presumption about that). I had also purchased MirrorUX as well as that is our standard package so to speak. However with only 1 logical disk presenting itself due to this IR volume, I'm not able to utilize mirroring. So I see my options as this:
1. Don't use MirrorUX
2. Order 2 more internal drives and use MirrorUX, or
3. Somehow break the internal raid and use the 2 physical disks as just physical disks.

Am I missing something else that is a possibility here? Any and all help is greatly appreciated, thanks.

Doug

root@chcccmx1:/# ioscan -fnC disk
Class I H/W Path Driver S/W State H/W Type Description
====================================================================================
disk 2 0/0/2/1.0.16.0.0 sdisk CLAIMED DEVICE TEAC DV-28E-V
/dev/cdrom /dev/rdsk/c0t0d0
/dev/dsk/c0t0d0
disk 1 0/4/1/0.0.0.0.0 sdisk CLAIMED DEVICE HP IR Volume
/dev/dsk/c3t0d0 /dev/rdsk/c3t0d0
/dev/dsk/c3t0d0s1 /dev/rdsk/c3t0d0s1
/dev/dsk/c3t0d0s2 /dev/rdsk/c3t0d0s2
/dev/dsk/c3t0d0s3 /dev/rdsk/c3t0d0s3

7 REPLIES 7
Tim Nelson
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: HP IR Volume?

The rx6600s come with an SAS raid controller. It can be configured to Raid 1 the internal disk(s) ( i.e. HW raid ) the OS will then only see 1 disk.

It is up to you what you want to do as any option you listed above is a valid option.

Opinion,
why pay for Mirror/UX if you do not have to. If you need it for other things then use it for everything to be consistent.