4611 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HP server for lab testing

Latvian
Occasional Contributor

HP server for lab testing

Hello everyone,

I am totally new to this and this is actually my first interaction with HP in general. I will start by presenting my idea: I want to work as Oracle database administrator and so far I have used Oracle 10g/11g on Linux and on Solaris. Now, I want to learn how to manage Oracle on HP-UX and I thought I could install the OS on VMware, like what I did in the case of Linux/Solaris, but it seems that it's impossible to run HP-UX on VMware, Oracle Virtual Box or similar virtual environments. So, I have decided to by HP server (or build one, whichever the cheapest method) so here I am. My question is: What is a good, cheap HP server that I can buy to learn managing Oracle database on HP-UX? Is it cheaper to buy an old used box or to build one myself? I have been googling and came across many "Blade Servers" and one of them which is somehow reasoably priced is HP ProLiant DL360. Can I run a blade as a stand alone server or does it have to be in a rack in order to function approiapertley?

Thanks all in advance.

P.S This thread has been moved from General to Integrity Servers - HP Forums Moderator

3 REPLIES 3
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

A blade server (BL8x0c or BL8x0ci2) needs a C7000 or C3000 enclosure,

Look for an used Integrity server, e.g. rx1620, rx2620, rx2660, rx4640.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Proliant DL360 is not a blade server: it is a rack-mount standalone server with a Intel x86 processor.