1748108 Members
5129 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

How to Load debug driver in Itanium.

kavitha_rajesh

How to Load debug driver in Itanium.

Hi,

I would like to know how to install a debug driver itanium system. say i have a debug driver of the SA driver in floppy , as itanium system does not have floppy i can't inject the driver in floppy by pressing F6(to install/inject any third party SCSI driver).

I use to inject debug driver in proliant sytsem thru floppy (and pressing F6),as i am new to itanium, i would like to know the procedure to inject debug driver of Smart array driver.

Regards,
Kavitha.
2 REPLIES 2
Marco Hogeveen_1
Trusted Contributor

Re: How to Load debug driver in Itanium.

Hi Kavitha,

You can load a 3rd party driver (like using F6) by using the virtual floppy.
Please take a look at the smart setup documentation on http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c00752219/c00752219.pdf and have a look at page 98:

Load OEM Boot Driver - Loads OEM drivers for boot devices into memory.
Ordinarily, boot drivers not on the Windows CD are installed using the floppy drive.
Because Integrity servers don├в t have floppy drives, the drivers must be loaded into
memory and then installed.
EBSU shows devices that it detects and that have a virtual floppy image available.

This should do the trick for you.

Marco
Stefan Stechemesser
Honored Contributor

Re: How to Load debug driver in Itanium.

Hi Kavitha,

please keep in mind that Itanium is a new processor architecture and the EFI (Extensible Firmware Interface) is completely different from a standard Bios of a PC or Proliant.

So the question is not how to load the debug driver to EFI, but more:

Where do you get a debug EFI driver for a Smart Array card ?

If you would have one, then it would have to be loaded to the EFI partition (either from the OS with special tools or via a DVD/CD or with FTP via the network) and then it could be loaded to EFI.