New Discussion

Re: ACL for VLANS not acting as expected

SOLVED
Go to solution
elfordty
Occasional Advisor

ACL for VLANS not acting as expected

HI there,

I am relatively new to ACLs in Inter-VLAN routing.

I have setup several VLAN's on my network and would like to restrict access to certain ones.  For my network I have the following two VLAN's, as an example

Vlan 20: 172.16.20.0 / 24

Vlan 18: 172.16.18.0 / 24

My IP Phone system is on vlan 18 and I don't want vlan 20 to be able to access vlan 18, with the exception of a few of the IT department PC's that need to access the IP phone controller, which is on vlan 18.

I have created this ACL

ip access-list extended "PHONES"
     10 permit ip 172.16.20.250 0.0.0.0 172.16.18.0 0.0.0.255
     20 deny ip 172.16.20.0 0.0.0.255 172.16.18.0 0.0.0.255
   exit

vlan 18# ip access-group "PHONES" in

From my understanding the first one in the ACL, number 10, should allow my computer on ip 172.16.20.250 access to that subnet and then block all other IPs from the 172.16.20.0 subnet.

However, my computer cannot access that subnet.

Can anyone provide assistance for this?

Thank you

Tyson

6 REPLIES 6
Matcol
Frequent Advisor

Your PC will be sending your connection attempt/frames/packets to its default gateway address.

Where is its default gateway?

On what device?

Does that device have the VLAN18 subnet in its routing table?

If so, is the access list actually on the interface referenced by the route?

What I'm driving at is, have you correctly understood your network - which switches are switching and which one is doing the inter-VLAN routing? Have you understood the path your connection *should* be taking, and the path it is *actually* taking?

Also, can you actually ping that same address from your PC if you give your PC an address in VLAN18 and put it on a switchport in VLAN18?

elfordty
Occasional Advisor

The default gateway for my PC (VLAN 20) is on our core switch - 172.16.20.254