4509 Online
108723 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Fiber connection between two buildings

Reinheitz
Occasional Collector

Fiber connection between two buildings

Hello,

I'm a noob Network admin for a small business, and am gathering info on connecting two separate adjacent building networks via fiber.

Both networks have sonicwall firewalls, HP procurve switches with multiple vlans configured on each network and they have individual T1 connections. I'm looking to connect the two networks via Fiber. Can someone give me a little direction on how to do this... what's involved? best practices?

I already have someone to run the fiber. I have a general idea of how this is done, but am looking to verify I'm on the right track here.

I want to have connectivity between all vlans on all switches. I'm thinking I pick the main lan switches and just tag all the vlans on the connecting fiber ports and uplink ports.

So for example on network 1:

Switches are on default vlan 1

I have vlans 10, 20 and 30 tagged on ports 47 and 48 on Switches 1, 2, and 3 for uplinks to the other switches.

on network 2:

Switches on default vlan 1

I have vlans 40, 50, and 60 tagged on ports 47 and 48 on Switches 4, 5, and 6.

I'm planning to add Fiber modules to Switch 1 and 4 and tag all vlans 10 thru 60 on these modules. I'll also add tags for the vlans 10 thru 60 on ports 47 and 48 of the all the switches.

Any thing I'm missing with this plan? advice?

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
Vince-Whirlwind
Honored Contributor

Re: Fiber connection between two buildings

It seems unlikely that you would want to trunk the VLANs between buildings - I am thinking that both buildings will have entirely separate IP subnets, OR, the subnets clash. Either way, the link would probably go through the local router/firewall.