5332 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Intra vlan routing between two 5406zl switches, shortest path question

rongtenx
Occasional Visitor

Intra vlan routing between two 5406zl switches, shortest path question

Hello,

I am very new to networking so I am looking for pointers in the right direction for a network that I have inherited at work.

Our network has at its core a 5406zl that is connected to our firewall and that is configured for ip routing.

All other hp switches (5412zl) do not have ip routing enabled and have the vlan 1 ip of the 5406zl as default gateway.

There are different vlans enabled on the switches, each switch has its own ip on each vlan, and each machine on each different vlan has the vlan ip address of the 5460zl as default gateway.

Now everything works correctly, but when I do a traceroute from a machine in vlan2 to a machine in vlan3, the route shows as first line the default gw in vlan2  that is the vlan2 ip of the 5406zl.

This happens even if the two machines are on the same 5412zl switch.

Forgive my ignorance, but does that means that when data is exchanged between these two machines on vlan2 and vlan3 on one 5412zl switch, all traffic is actually routed by the 5406zl?

If this is the case, it would be very inefficient since the trunk between the two switches could be better used.

Is there any technique to improve this routing? I read about RIP, OSPF etc., I wanted just to know if you could point me in the direct direction to avoid studying things that do not bear the desired results.

Thanks for your attention

5 REPLIES 5
Fredrik Lönnman
Honored Contributor

You are correct, the routing will be done on the device you've configured as default gateway, which seems to be your 5406zl. Not knowing your topology there might be some improvements to do routingwise, but it also might not.

---
CCIE Service Provider
MASE Network Infrastructure [2011]
H3CSE
CCNP R&S

rongtenx
Occasional Visitor

Hello Fredrik,