Operating System - HP-UX
1752278 Members
5021 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Getting data off old disk (no longer part of VG?)

SOLVED
Go to solution
Vetto

Getting data off old disk (no longer part of VG?)

OK...I have been supporting an old HP 10 system for a few years, but have never gotten into lvm stuff (it always just worked.) I am studying, but need a boost right now:

I have a single disk (/dev/dsk/c0t1d0) that is assigned to /dev/vg03. The VG contains no other physical volumes. The box's boot disk failed and the user ignited the box and ran a mod tape that recreated all the system software architecture (including recreating the VG's).

Knowing that he had no backups of the database on this box, he removed and replaced the c0t1d0 disk prior to rebuilding the box.

Now the box is working, the databases are there but empty, and all the VGs are mounting properly.

PROBLEM: the database backups are on the "old" c0t1d0 drive that WAS part of VG03. I replaced the "new" disk with the "old" disk to see if I could cp the files off it...but I cannot mount it, I get the "vgchange: Warning: Couldn't attach to the volume group physical volume "/dev/dsk/c0t1d0" " error.

I assume (not knowing yet how PV assignment works) that the system is trying to assign the PV to the VG but it knows that this is not the same physical disk that the VG is supposed to have...

How can I reassign VG03 to this existing disk vice the "new" disk and then cp off the data?

***given enough time, I would never ask this basic admin question...I would study and figure it out on my own but I am in a time crunch.
7 REPLIES 7
James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: Getting data off old disk (no longer part of VG?)

Hi:

# mkdir /dev/vg03
# mknod /dev/vg03/group c 64 0x030000
# vgimport -v /dev/vg03 /dev/dsk/c0t1d0
# vgchange -a y /dev/vg03